D is for Develop a Friendship #atozchallenge

There are a lot of lonely people in this world – and loneliness can oftentimes lead to things that aren’t so good. Not only for the lonely person, but for those around them.

So for today, the act of kindness I want to encourage is developing a friendship, whether it be rekindling an old one or starting a new one.

Real_friendship_by_untovilordo-d599d6u (1)

As I grow older, I actually find this more and more difficult. As we lead our busy lives with careers, kids, and varying interests, not to mention family and other obligations, developing new friendships can be last on the list of things to do.  But, it’s important…more so because as you get older, it’s likely that you’ve been around the block or two with your current friendships – some may serve you still, and some may not.  Those that don’t, fade…and that can be painful – and I know personally, after it’s happened to me, I’ve closed ranks.  And in that closing, I’ve chosen to nurture and develop certain friendships to a level that gives me comfort, makes me feel supported by the right folks and grateful.

Why is it so important? Because connectedness eradicates isolation…and in the right person (or wrong person I guess you might say)…isolation leads to unkind actions. I’m not saying everyone has to be your new BFF, but making an effort to be genuinely friendly to people you meet is being both kind to yourself – because it takes a village to live these days and kind to the other person, because everybody needs somebody …sometime. And you never know when you might meet a kindred spirit…

So, ask questions. Genuine ones …like you give a crap. Then offer up a few things about yourself.

Smile.

Bring someone banana bread and offer a service. You don’t have to bake it…just bring it!

Ask a neighbor out for coffee, or …invite them over for a cup!

And on that note, I’d like to take a minute to give props to Diana over at Part-Time Monster who runs Weekend Coffee Share – a way to develop friendships with other bloggers.  I don’t participate as often as I would like but …I intend to after this month is over and I’m thankful for those I’ve already met this way.

Tell me, do you find it easy to develop new friendships? Are you happy with the state of your current ones?

 

For more on the A to Z Challenge, please go HERE.

Stay tuned during the month of April to see other ways in which you can incorporate kindness into your daily life and encourage others to do the same…I’ll return to my senses on May 1.

 

 

2 comments

  1. Friendships are so important and can do wonders to a broken soul and spread happiness to the happier ones.. I am really glad to share beautiful friendships with a couple of my friends 🙂

    Cheers
    Geets

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

